Inspiring the next generation

img_2209When my 7 year old daughter came home from school declaring that she’d volunteered herself to make handmade cards for the school Christmas fair, my heart sank and lept for joy in equal measure.

 

Whilst I was delighted in her enthusiasm for crafting homemade cards, I worried she has underestimated what would be involved. Having attended a few craft fairs in my time, I know how much work is involved and how many cards are needed. I also predicted that I would end up making them all.

But any reservations I may have had were completely unfounded. She started designing cards in a notebook and then turned them into finished cards using my stash of Trimcraft First Edition Christmas dies, a stash of Christmas papers I found in the bottom of a drawer, a few embellishments and some Christmas Dovecraft Washi tape.

 

 

I was completely surprised by her creativity, and how she used the materials at her disposal. She used the dies to create apertures, snipped at die cuts to create altered shapes, matched colours, recreated her sketches and embellished to her heart’s content. Her enthusiasm and enjoyment was a joy to see and she managed to make over 40 cards in a little over a week.

I think I have some competition!

One thought on “Inspiring the next generation

Leave a Reply

