Handmade gardening card with faux stitching

Tuesday Tip – faux stitching technique

Welcome to the first of my Tuesday Tips features.

Adding faux stitching to papercraft projects

I thought I’d start the new year as I mean to go on by starting a new Tuesday Tip blog post.

In my Tuesday Tips I will be sharing some of the tricks and ideas I have picked up since I started making my own cards, gifts and crafts.

These will be short and sweet ways to improve your skills and of course, I’d like to hear any tips you have to share too. I’m always looking for new ways to add creativity to a project.

We’ll start off with a simple technique that is useful when matting and layering or working directly on a card blank. In either situation, this simple trick has the effect of framing your card or project. It can be used in place of another layer of paper, making your stash go further or simply to finish off a card that needs a bit of definition.

I’ve used this faux stitching technique with alcohol pens, markers, gel pens and even a biro!  It’s so simple. All you need to do is add a dotted line around the paper you wish to frame. Keep the lines fairly equal in length and the spaces even but as it’s a stitched effect it definitely does not need to be perfect. It will look natural, handmade, and give definition to you projects. It’s also a great way to add focus to scrapbook pages.

Try it on your next project and let me know what you think. Mention @KathyCraftsTV on Twitter or Instagram or post it to my Facebook wall.

Faux stitching borders for cardmaking

Faux stitching borders for cardmaking

Leave a Reply

