Creativeworld discovered

Trimcraft stand at Creativeworld Frankfurt 2017

Trimcraft stand at Creativeworld Frankfurt 2017

As I write I am slowly but surely recovering from a crafty weekend at Creativeworld in Frankfurt, a trade show for art, craft and hobby brands to showcase their wonderful ranges to a worldwide audience.

And what a show it was! Suffice to say, together with seeing the sunrise from above the clouds during the flight over to Germany, it made the 3:30am wake up call on Saturday morning more than worth it!

As the show is trade only I thought I’d share an insight into the event and give my review of Creativeworld Messe Frankfurt 2017 and let you in on what I discovered.

The Messe exhibition space in Frankfurt is vast and the perfect setting for creative brands to display their products and inspire visitors to the show. During a break from carrying out live demos on the Trimcraft stand I took the opportunity to walk the show – both floors – and was struck by three stand-out trends which I’m delighted will be featuring in the creative sphere during 2017.

Tropical trends on Rayer's stand at Creativeworld 2017 in Frankfurt

Tropical trends on Rayer’s stand at Creativeworld 2017 in Frankfurt

With Pantone naming Greenery as the official colour of 2017, I wasn’t at all surprised that splashes of green were spread throughout the show. However, it was the tropical foliage theme that really captured my attention, using vivid green colour palettes  in combination with the simple shape of the cheese leaf plant. I’m already planning ways to introduce this into my crafting and my home!

Two exhibitors in particular nailed the tropical theme with displays to lust after.  I’d guess that Rayher – a German-based distributor supplying over 6,000 creative retailers across Europe – had the largest stand at the show, situated at the front of the hall by the main entrance. Cheese plant leaves were evident in several areas of the company’s stand in relation to jewellery, paper and modelling, but this wallpaper / chair / succulent combo actually stopped me in my tracks.

The nude cream base on both the paper and fabric makes the green colour jump out without being brash and invites anyone walking past to grab a book and a cuppa and settle in to while away a few hours.

img_3523Initially drawn in by my stationery addiction, it wasn’t until I was inside the TOGA Paris stand that I noticed this tropical paradise display. How cool is that wall pocket and pineapple notebook?!?! In this composition tropical green is teamed with peach and various other shades of green, including a lust-worthy blue-green, against a white backdrop. It looks fresh, bright and I want it all!

I will definitely doing more tropical themed crafting projects in the very near future.

Another massive trend for crafters could be seen on at least half of the stands at the show. OK, that may be a slight exaggeration but it’s probably not far off. From graffiti style to calligraphy hand lettering – the art of drawing the written word – is ABSOLUTELY HUGE! Here are a few of my favourite examples ….

 

For hundreds more examples of handlettering see the #Creativeworld feed on Instagram, but be warned you could get lost in there for hours!!

Finally, my top trend prediction is not going to come as a surprise as it’s already hurtling its way over to these shores from the US where it is incredibly popular.

Using a diary for forward planning or capturing memories and innermost thoughts retrospectively is nothing new but the 21st century planner takes it to the next level. From stationery distributors to craft suppliers – including Trimcraft – the planner is making its mark and will definitely find a place in the nation’s hearts during 2017.

As if planners, cheese plants and handlettering weren’t enough creative inspiration cork paper, concrete jewellery, origami owls and the continued washi tape trends mean I’m already counting down the days to next year’s Creativeworld.

img_3574

I’ve already added a gallery of the projects I made during the live demos on the Trimcraft stand – simply click here to see what I got up to.

One thought on “Creativeworld discovered

Leave a Reply

