Box card bonanza

img_4622

Mother’s Day Box Card

Unforgivably it’s been over a week since my Hobbycraft Wolverhampton demo. The only excuse I have for the delay in writing this post is the fun I’ve been having crafting since.

I spent the days following the demo finishing samples and preparing demos for the upcoming Blooming Lovely show on Create and Craft, which is taking place this Monday. I’ve also filmed a couple of videos, including one for DIY April which is a lovely glass paint project and a simple but effective card shape.

Finally, I have been preparing samples for some brand new die shows on Create and Craft at the end of this month. You’re going to love the collection. I’ve had great fun cardmaking with my daughter with these dies so here’s a sneak peek of some of the designs on a card she made.

My daughter’s card design

So, thinking back to the demo at Hobbycraft in Wolverhampton, as with all of my demos I met some wonderful crafters. I chatted to Two Crafty Bears about her growing craft business and Trimcraft design team member Lyndsey Turner popped in too. She showed me her latest card shape which I recreated using the new First Edition dies. She’s a great teacher so it’s no surprise she runs a very successful craft school.

img_4638But without a doubt, the star of the show during the demo was the box card. I made one for a little girl’s first birthday and another for Mother’s Day, both using the bright and colourful First Edition Paradise Crush papers.

The cards stand out so much one customer asked me how much it would be to buy one! If you sell your cards you should definitely consider this design as there is definitely a market for them.

img_4794

Mother’s Day Box card

When I made my Mothers Day box card, I instinctively chose the letters M O M from the alphabet dies. One of the Hobbycraft staff remarked that she’s never seen cards with Mom on – usually they all say Mum. I’d never given it any thought. I think it’s a Midlands thing but I’ve always referred to my Mom with an  O! But that’s precisely what’s so special about making your own cards. You can make them completely personal to the recipient and they can say whatever you like. In my Etsy shop I offer cards for MAM catering for our friends in the north east.

Box cards are so easy to make yet offer a massive wow factor! Follow the video tutorial here and you could be making your own super impressive cards. Here’s a few other examples I’ve been working on recently. 

Leave a Reply

