A Super Scrapbooking Session

Long Hair don't care - Dovecraft kiss and make up scrapbook layout 2This weekend I had an amazing time creating six scrapbook layouts using the Dovecraft Kiss and Makeup collection.

(I have to apologise for not editing the pictures as I normally do. I am going for speed tonight and as these are presentable I’m going with it!)

I am relatively new to scrapbooking so I hope to get a bit quicker at creating layouts but overall I am pleased with my designs.

For a few of the layouts, unlike most scrapbookers, I used the kit itself as inspiration and chose images to fit the theme. A great example of this is the ‘Long Hair Don’t Care’ layout. I immediately thought of my daughter when I saw this sentiment in the Dovecraft stickers as she is very proud of her long hair (it’s 53 cm you know – we measured it on Friday) and I asked her to wear her red dress to compliment the papers. I took several pictures of her flipping her hair and laid these out on the page, complimented by fussy cut hair grips from the papers in the collection and a little note describing the layout.

I think most scrapbookers probably work the other way round. They have the images they want to include on a layout and choose the papers and embellishments to match. However, as this kit is coming up very soon on Create & Craft TV, I needed to create some sample layouts to show off the collection and make the most of the items in the kit.

My favourite layout is the ‘Wonder’-ful theme. This perfectly captures an amazing day out I had with my mum, my Aunt and a friend in London when we saw Stevie Wonder in Hyde Park. I included a map of the park, a tube map, my concert ticket and images from the day, all made into tags tucked into a pocket on the page. I finished it with a few of the heart pins and the Simply Creative letters work really well on this layout too.

This layout has a pinwheel that opens to reveal the picture inside. I printed this picture in black and white to fit in with the colour theme of the collection which comprises black and white, red, pink and a pop of orange.

This one uses a picture taken at the Craft Blog launch event at the Trimcraft Bloggers Day.

This is our Trimcraft team after a most exciting crafty day, in front of the many pinwheels that adorned the photo area. I thought the colours in the picture matched the papers nicely and I coloured Simply Creative white foam alphabet stickers to match.

The stars are the negative spaces from a Dovecraft pennant bunting die which I also used on the page. This, along with more Dovecraft dies, will be launching on Create & Craft TV on the same day as the Kiss and Makeup kits.

Finally, on this page I added a little tab that pulls out to reveal the details of the day.

Ladies in red Dovecraft Kiss and Make up scrapbook layoutFor my ‘Ladies in Red’ layout I used a picture that perfectly matches the theme of the Dovecraft  Kiss and Makeup collection!

It’s my cousin’s daughter and my daughter on Christmas day. They both looked amazing and very festive in their red dresses and the picture works perfectly in the frames included in the collection. I die cut letters to create the title for my page which I placed around the frame edge. I added little envelopes with stickers inside, all of which complimented the image beautifully. Finally, the tag at the bottom centre of the page includes the date so that when I look back at this layout I will know exactly when the photo was taken.

Big night out Dovecraft Kiss and makeup scrapbook layoutIn my final layout I used a red ink pad to create a lipstick stain effect on the white paper. I created a frame using washi tape and die cut bunting to sit above the image. I hand wrote the title and used an image of two of my mates on a very messy night out we had last year. It’s a night I never want to forget but can’t actually remember! That means it was definitely a fabulous night doesn’t it?!?!?

I will be doing at least one scrapbook demo on the show coming up on when we launch this collection on Monday 24 April. I am hoping to show different ways to add descriptions or notes to your pages making your scrapbook pages hold all those memories.

I hope you can join me then – in the meantime I’ll be brushing up on my scrapbooking skills and taking hundreds of photos from now on so that I can scrapbook with many more collections. I have definitely caught the scrapbooking bug!

6 thoughts on “A Super Scrapbooking Session

Leave a Reply

