Embrace the space – Tuesday Tip

Hot Air balloon card with pearlsI’ve been busy again making samples for Create & Craft TV and managed to create over 60 in three days so am pretty chuffed with myself.

Whilst some of the projects are ‘works of heart’ taking time to fussy cut, decoupage and embellish, towards the end of the week I needed to speed-craft and so concentrated on clean and simple (or CAS) cards.

Also, recently I have seen many cards on Pinterest with lots of blank space. I think sometimes we have such wonderful papers and embellishments at our disposal that we try and cram as much onto our project as possible. However I think these cards, although quick and simple in design, are still very effective and I would be happy to give or receive one.

So today’s #TuesdayTip is to ‘Embrace the Space’. Leaving white (or blank) space on a card can be as effective as filling it with patterns or embellishments.

However I do need to apologise for the dark photos. I have tried to lighten them as much as possible without bleaching them but this is as good as it gets.  The samples are in the studio now so as soon as I have them back I’ll redo them and add them here.

Cardmaking examples with white space

For the first card I used the Dovecraft layering butterfly die. I cut five of the top layer, five of the bottom layer and placed them in a vertical line on the right of a 7×5 card blank. I added a sentiment stamp on the bottom right and finished each butterfly off with a few pearls for the body. Adhesive pearls are on the show too so ‘two birds’ and all that!

I think it helps that the papers on this one suit the card design. They are the new Simply Creative Sugar Rush papers. I will show you more of this pad in the second card and also in the show preview post later this week (I promise!).

Clean and simple card design

Clean and simple card ideas

This second card leaves a small amount of white space at the top and a larger amount at the bottom, a design that can be replicated with so many papers and die cut shapes.

Again, it’s a 7×5 white card blank and I have used the Sugar Rush papers from the Simply Creative pad and the pearls. I find it focuses the mind and helps with designs when I have the constraint of only using the products available on the specific show I am crafting for (other times not so much but hey ho!).

I used the First Edition border dies for the frill at the top and bottom of the banner and topped it with two of the nesting doily dies (I think these are still available on the Create & Craft web site.) I finished it off with the Dovecraft Hello Sunshine stamp as it’s just the perfect size and shape for the doily die cut and some pearls in the border.

Rainbow card with gems

Rainbow card made using gems

Finally, I created a couple of cards using just the pearls and gems. Although if I am being honest, sticking all those pearls and gems on wasn’t actually that quick!!

For the rainbow gem card I used a reel of tape as a guide in the corner and stuck the first arch of red gems and then added the other arches in the other colours. For the hot air balloon card below I used a large red sticky tape reel and added the pearls inside and just elongated it a bit at the bottom.

I think these would make great cards for kids.

Hot Air balloon card with pearls

I hope you like my cards that ’embrace the space’. Don’t forget to check back later this week for the full show preview and details of the other five AMAZING Simply Creative paper pads.

2 thoughts on “Embrace the space – Tuesday Tip

Leave a Reply

