Making Cards Monday

Have you seen the latest edition of Making Cards magazine?  On page 64 you’ll find my latest crafy update where you can read about my month and my recommendations for amazing crafty stash boosters.

In this issue I shared my cards made using the brand new First Edition paper pads: Grand Plans and Floral Fusion (available here).

Cards for men and music lovers

Cards for men and music lovers

The first card was an side stepper card made by marking a point t 3.5 inches across the top of a 7×5 card blank (landscape) at the top fold. From this point I cut 3.5 inches into the middle of the card. I then scored at 1.5 inch and 2.5 inch from the bottom of the card on the right hand side, turned the card blank over and repeated the scores on the right hand side. I then mountain and valley folded these score lines to create the stepper on the right.

I filled the stepper with images fussy cut from the papers in the pad and added the vinyl records on the left. I finished it with a ‘Rock Star’ sentiment topper cut from the topper sheet and put gems in the corners of the section on the left.

Handmade card made using Grand Plans paper from Trimcraft

Handmade birthday card made using Grand Plans paper from Trimcraft

I also created a dreamy card using these papers. The card blank is made from the red gem effect paper in the pad. I cut a piece 6 inches by 12 inches and then scored it at the 7 inch mark along the long edge and trimmed it at 8 inches. I added a piece of the star paper to the larger piece and lined up the other cut piece at the other edge so I had created a 7×5 top fold card blank with an star section.

I fussy cut ten clouds and layered them with foam pads to hide the joins where the different patterned cards meet. I added three fussy cut paper aeroplanes from the papers using foam pads and placed the ‘Have Fun’  banner from the topper sheet in the bottom right corner. The letters ‘HAPPY’ and the word ‘birthday’ were die cut and glued on.

My First Edition Floral Fusion projects were a window easel card and a banner card.

The Friendship card was the first card I made using these First Edition papers. It was so difficult to choose which papers to use initially as they are all so gorgeous. I thought I could create a card using a few different ones and show them all off.

Floral Fusion panel card

Cards made with the First Edition Floral Fusion paper pad

I took a sheet of black A4 card and folded it in half. I cut banners one inch wide and cut them to the height of the card blank leaving a small border. I added a rectangle of pale turquoise card from the paper pad and topped it with an orange rectangle, both with rounded edges. I added the stamped sentiment and some fussy cut flowers and butterflies.

I was really pleased with the result and my Friend chose this card to give to a couple who are celebrating a ‘friendship ceremony’ instead of a wedding.

Floral Fusion easel cardFor the easel card I chose two of the patterned papers – one double sided – and cut them down to 12 x 6 inches. I folded each one in half to create two 6×6 card blanks and fixed them together overlapping in the middle so I had a card with three 6×6 panels.

In the first panel I die cut a scallop circle. In a third patterned paper I die cut two nesting scallop circles to create a frame. I hung this in the aperture using twine and added a bird I had fussy cut from the papers. I used a Dovecraft Thank You Plaque die (available here) and fixed it on with foam tape to raise it slightly and form the stopper. I added a few orange and red gems around the scallop circle, but not all the way round, and attached three orange gems in each corner of the base of the card.

Find out what else you will discover in the July issue of Making Cards magazine by watching this short video:

 

There are some really beautiful free papers and stamps with this issue that I can’t wait to get crafting with. Hope you enjoy the issue.

http://www.makingcardsmagazine.com

One thought on “Making Cards Monday

Leave a Reply

