Simple jar upcycling crafts – Tuesday Tip

Today’s #TuesdayTip is a speedy one as I am just about to make my way down to the Create & Craft studio for a show this afternoon. The project on this post is also a quick and easy one and is great for upcycling and creating home decor items.

This weekend we held our annual summer garden party at school. As an active member of the PFA, this meant many hours of preparation in readiness for the big day.

I baked five dozen cupcakes and a Victoria sponge. All of the ingredients were donated by our local CoOp which was fantastic and I think the cakes were a hit with visitors.

One of the stalls that usually sells out first is the jar stall and this year was no exception. It is basically a tombola where you can win a jar that has been filled with a treat. I have been hoarding empty jars for months and I had great fun making them pretty ready for the stall.

Upcycled jars 1

Here are some of the examples and a couple of #TuesdayTip hints if you want to try this simple upcycling project.

The jars would make great gifts or without the lids on could become vases or pen pots.

On some of them I wrapped a paper doily around the jar, added some twine or washi tape and an accordion pinwheel topper. or sticker.

Upcycled jars 3

Others had paper around the jar and a narrower piece added for interest. I used some of my leftover free papers, downloaded from the Trimcraft webs site as well as raiding the remnants of some of my older paper pads.

Where I covered the lids, I either used a doily, a circle of paper or washi tape. For the doilies I fixed double sided tape around the rim of the lid as well as a piece on top of the lid to fix the doily. On the lids covered with paper, I cut a rough circle about an inch bigger than the lid and sprayed the paper. This helps to break down the fibres and means it’s easier to shape around the lid. I used twine around the outside to keep the paper attached.

 

Upcycled jars 2

I filled my jars with sweets, packs of loom bands, lego cards and packets of chocolate biscuits. There were also some smaller jars there that were filled with 2p or 5p coins. They were definitely popular with the kids.

I hope you find these ideas useful and maybe run a jar stall at your next fundraiser.

 

One thought on “Simple jar upcycling crafts – Tuesday Tip

Leave a Reply

