Dean’s cardmaking tips

Dean's origami dressToday’s #TuesdayTip is late in the day….but that’s because I’ve been to Peterborough and back for a Create & Craft TV “60 minute touchdown”.

It’s been a while since I’ve been scheduled to work with Dean but he never fails to entertain! I thought it would be a good idea to get him crafting with me, making an origami dress and he didn’t let me down! He embraced his inner crafter and even turned his dress into a card.

Dean's Cardmaking layersWithout any prep – or even seeing the kit until moments before the show – he made a fab card with the elements available on the show.

So this #TuesdayTip is in his honour. Faced with a dilemma to make a card but with limited craft supplies, he took a 6×6 paper and tore it to give a banner with distressed edges, perfect for fixing directly onto a card blank before topping with his origami dress. He then chose a range of embellishments to finish his card with flair!

Dean's Cardmaking

You can use this technique on your card to layer papers with a gorgeous effect that gives your card an edge and a different look.

Dean's origami dress card

Here’s an 8×8 card I made using this technique on the First Edition Storyteller papers (which incidentally, were also available on the show).

Just For You Sentiment2

If you didn’t catch the show, but are intrigued to see more – including my card topped with an origami dress – you can watch the show back and pick up your crafty stash at http://www.createandcraft.com/gb/shows/trimcraft-60-minute-touchdown-2656677?channel=CC.

IMG_7602

5 thoughts on “Dean’s cardmaking tips

  1. Christine Bilyard says:

    I thought the show was fab and liked how Dean got stuck in! Reminds me of my birthday when i woke up to a loud banging noise and my boyfriend presented me with a card he had made using one of my embossing folders but rather than using the Die cutting machine he had embossed it by using a hammer! He had added some dried flowers and it did look quite good! X

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

