Handmade card made using Grand Plans paper from Trimcraft

Folds for focal points

Kathy CardsUnashamedly I am borrowing a Trimcraft video tutorial that I filmed recently for this week’s #TuesdayTip post. And I’ll tell you for why!

The past week has been hectic and a complete blur. With all of the end of term frivolities, usual extra curricular activities and a weekend away in Harrogate where my husband played a gig at a festival, we have not stopped running round and chasing our tails.

I managed to steal some time one evening before the end of term to make the teachers’ gifts, but unsurprisingly it was left very late in the week! I turned to my trusty Cricut to speed up the process and I am really pleased with the way these turned out. I have have a paper stash to rival Hobbycraft so I managed to find some papers that looked like a cross between a chalkboard and a note pad. Perfect for this gift. I had some frames lurking in the craft room and I played around a bit with some words and images until I had a design I was happy with.

This is the link to the cut file on Design Space if you’d like to create your own. https://design.cricut.com/#/design/64243175 

I had really looked forward to spending the first weekend of the school holidays in Harrogate and whilst the festival was fantastic and the town itself beautiful, the weather let us down. We were soaked to the skin. Not that the kids minded, luckily! The highlight was having their hands henna painted at the charity tent but I had to resist the temptation. I am not allowed to wear coloured nail polish on Create & Craft so a full on henna tattoo may have been more than my job’s worth!

The lady doing the henna painting did ask whether my little man would prefer a skull or a more masculine design but he wanted exactly what the girls were having. She refrained from adding glitter but keeping him out of the way of passing strangers whilst the henna was drying was pretty stressful and made me question my own judgement as to whether I should have let him have one. I think the fall out from making him miss out would have been worse though!

So after a day busy making samples for shows in August today, this brings me to Tuesday evening. Very late in the day for this week’s #TuesdayTip but I made it none the less.

I have made a few samples for shows using this technique recently as it’s so simple and quick but looks amazing. It can provide the focal point for a stamped sentiment or image, a fussy cut topper or a die cut. I suggested it for my next YouTube tutorial and our new video genius created this great footage to share with you.

Don’t forget to show me your makes using these toppers. Happy crafting all.

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Folds for focal points

  1. Isn't She Crafty says:

    Sounds like a lovely end of term. Those gifts for the teachers are lovely, they’ll be much many appreciated than wine or chocolate.

    I like this technique, I’ve used it before but bits another one I tend to forget about. It would have been perfect last week when I was cutting large sentiments with my Scan’n’Cut.

    Hope you and your family really enjoy the summer holidays x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kathy Crafts TV says:

      Thank you. Probably goes without saying really that I always do ‘handmade’ for teacher gifts. When I’m more organised the kids make them but these were done at midnight one evening so it was me making them or nothing at all!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

