Window Build a scene Chrismtas card

Ways with dies

Craft a Card Happy Christmas die cut

Craft a Card Happy Christmas die cut

Friday saw another amazing dies show on Create & Craft with sell outs as expected. I hope everyone managed to get what they wanted before they sold out.

We also had the wonderful First Edition Papers back on the show. I will be running a Facebook and Twitter poll to see which pad is the most popular – I just can’t choose! All the details are at the bottom of this post, but in the meantime, you can catch up with the show on the Create & Craft web site,  but only for a week.

In the first demo I simply cut the Craft a Card die into a Card blank and offered a few tips for ensuring a clean cut. In summary, my tips for Craft a Card die cutting are :

  • Get your sandwich right! For me at home with my manual die cutting machine which has just three plates, I need to add some card or a few sheets of printer paper underneath to make sure the rollers in the machine have enough pressure. With a Cut n Boss or electronic machine, try adding another plate or shim if the first cut isn’t completely clean.
  • Place the die on the plates at a slight angle so that the machine has to deal with the die gradually, rather than ‘shocking’ it with the entire width of the die in one go. These are very intricate dies so it’s asking a lot of the machine to offer the die straight on.
  • Use Cut Tidy. This makes it easier to clean out the negative spaces and keeps the die itself clear of paper remnants.
  • Keep some of your negative spaces for other projects …. the words Merry Christmas & Happy New Year out of the centre plaque in this die could be used on another card or tag. I did the same with the Santa die.
  • Cut the die in several different colours and infill the negative spaces.
  • Snip the die cuts to create new designs.
  • Add a die cut as the top layer in a series of mats and layers on a larger card.
  • Experiment with different backgrounds. I demonstrated on the show how one white card blank, cut with a Craft a Card die can look completely different depending on the material placed behind. I showed kraft card, patterned card, pearlescent card, vellum, mirror card and glitter card.
  • Have fun and share your makes with Trimcraft on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.
Window Build a scene Chrismtas card

Window Build a scene Chrismtas card

In my second demo I made a card using the First Edition Build a Scene window die set. I love how this set has been put together to allow you to create a festive scene behind the window frame. There is a frieplace setting complete with stockings hanging, an armchair, Christmas tree and presents and the window even has a winter garland and candle which you could snip away and use as a generic window any time of the year.

Of course, you don’t need to use all of the elements. In the card above I’ve created a winter scene with the fireplace and used the garland as bunting at the top.

In my demo, I used the First Edition Gift of Christmas papers to create the wallpaper on my card and used Winter Wishes grey papers for the frame and the woodland papers for the outside scene. I coloured the garlands in with green marker and added a die cut tree from the larger trees die pack with gold mirror card paper pieced for the decorations. Finally, I added a sentiment to finish.

Stas Christmas cardIn the next demo I used the Dovecraft dies to create a starburst card and sentiment. This card would also work equally for birthdays, congratulations and celebrations cards in different papers. I used wires to fix the stars, but twine or string would work equally well. This card was made using the Merry Little Christmas papers.

And finally, here is the card that I didn’t quite get time to finish during the show. It features the gorgeous penguin from the Animal dies set, cut in silver mirror card and paper pieced with silver glitter card.

Penguin handmade Christmas card

After the show I placed the penguin on mats and layers to create a monochrome card and added a few gems together with the Snow Happy sentiment. He’s such a cutie!

Here are my posts detailing the full set of First Edition dies – and First Edition papers if you want to discover more.

I’d love to know which is your favourite First Edition paper pad, so please vote on my Facebook or Twitter pages.

Handmade Christmas Eve card

Handmade Christmas Eve card with Simply Creative Glitter Stickers

I am back on Tuesday with more goodies for crafting over the festive season, so I hope you can join me at 8am! (Or you might prefer to set the show to record given the early start!)

 

2 thoughts on “Ways with dies

Leave a Reply

